Oil of Compassion and the Wine of Love


Wednesdays are Love Letters to my husband days…

To my darling husband,

I love you so much.  I am sorry for being tired and cranky lately – I’m not entirely sure why.  I guess I can be so highly strung and my need for control so great that I find it hard to just let go.  But, letting go is just what I want to do.  Babe, I am so tired of living in fear of living in fear.  Constantly my mind keeps going to “what if”…  so many what if’s, but this is what I am focosing on: the fact that I have God who I completely believe in and trust, who I know is on my side, who loves me with an everlasting love and I want to surrender all my fears, anxieties, distressing thoughts to Him.  Sometimes… I just don’t know how to.  

The truth is that I can step out into the sun, I can feel the gentle breeze on my face.  I can break down the walls I’ve been hiding behind my entire life.  In Jesus, I am safe, loved and accepted.  I can embrace my husband and my life as blessings from God.  I can embrace God who loves me completely.  I can trust in who God created me to be.  I can trust God will always guide me saying, “Here is the path.”  I can trust God has created me fearfully and wonderfully.  I will NOT give up.  I will reap the harvest of blessing if I do NOT give up.

One of the ways I think to do that is by expressing gratitude.  So, today, I want to thank you for being who you are; for being the husband and father that you; for loving me so much; for loving our daughter and for being an amazing provider to me and our family.  I am grateful that as hard as it has been that we have walked this path of parenting together, because I could not imagine our lives without our little Baby Girl.  And I am grateful that we both have good jobs, bringing in much needed income to provide for our lifestyles.  I am grateful, my love, that I am a Christian – I shudder to think where I would be right now if I wasn’t a Christian.

But, there is prayer that I have prayed for a very long time – and it is a prayer that was summed up so nicely in yesterday’s email of The Word for Today that I pray I can be for:

But if you let Him, God will give you the oil of compassion and the wine of love to pour into your spouse’s wounds.

I pray that your wounds in life, from your family, from your childhood will be healed by the oil of compassion and the wine of love in my heart.  I pray daily that you will see just a glimpse of God’s love for you in my love for you – that you will realise and know that you are worthy of respect and love; you are honoured and you are valuable.  I don’t know if I can do that – I am weak and frail and human.  But, through Christ I can – and I hope that you will see it.

I love you!

The Baby Mama

Leave a Reply

