The Whole Package!


Wednesdays are Love Letters to my Husband days…

To my darling husband.

It is hard to find a new aspect of your personality and who you are to express my love and appreciation about.  Then, I realised this morning – it’s not just an aspect here and there that I love.  It’s the whole package.  It’s who you are as a person.

I love how you live life effortlessly, that things are easy for you because you make then easy.  You don’t fuss about anything.  I also love that you are kind – to me, to our daughter, to our animals, and generally to the people you meet.  I love how you see the beauty in everything – your natural stance is to be positive (a lovely contrast to my negativity).  And yet, you are gentle – strong, determined, but gentle.  I need never fear a harsh or unkind word or action from you.  

But, I think what I admire the most about you is the fact that you have no fear.  Once again, a lovely contrast to my fearful personality.  You are so brave and excited about doing something that makes you a little nervous.  Me?  I tend to hide away.  And it is this bravery of yours that allows you to live an upbeat life – nothing seems to ever get you down.  And that is why life is always an adventure – you want to see where that road less traveled will take you.  I love the wild ride with you.  

But, and this is the most amazing part – you love me.  You truly love me.  From my shy and skinny days, to my anxious days, to my not so shy and not so skinny days, you have just loved me.  It’s hard for me to imagine that I am worthy of love, and yet, here you are – still just loving me.

But, it broke my heart to see how you mourned our dearest husky, who I know you loved dearly.  You were so kind and so good to her, and you missed her terribly.  

But, my darling, I love how you feel.  I love how you feel when I hug you.  I love how you feel when we make love.  I love how you feel when we’re sitting together watching TV.  I love how you feel when we’re together.  You’ve been a little sick of late, and I was very glad to see you take care of yourself.  We all need that.  But, with your love for me, you have given me wings to soar, and for wanting me to soar.  You want me to run, and do well.  You want to join Book Club and have fun.  You want to experience life and enjoy it.  You never want to hold me back in any way.

And that is why I think you’re amazing.  For all this, and for the fact that I feel safe with you.  Protected, and nurtured, and safe.  For most women, that is extremely important: knowing and feeling that we are safe.  

Thank you for being who you are.

I am who I am and where I am because of God.  And I am so grateful God has placed you in my life.
Leave a Reply

