Faithful Fridays – Holiness! (Acting Out!)


Galatians 6:9 NIV:  Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.

F  A  I  T  H  F  U  L

Happy and Holy!

We’re still exploring our them of holiness, making up the “h” in Faithfulness.

We’ve looked at holiness in our thoughts, in our actions, in our attitude, being unequally yoked – but today, I want to look at something a little different.  Internalizing what we’ve been discussing, and actually – literally – start living it out.  As my dear old hubby often says, I am wonderful with coming up with amazing ideas, thoughts and concepts.  I am terrible at putting it into action.

And he is right.

One of the areas that I really battle with is sexual intimacy with my man.  He being the higher drive; me being the lower one…  And yet I blog and know and understand just how important this is to a marriage.  But, I’m rather poor at putting all that I know and believe and understand into practice.

Aren’t we all, though?

Isn’t this what Paul was talking about when he said:

Romans 7:15-20 NIV:  I do not understand what I do.  For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do.  And if I do what I do not want to do, I agree that the law is good.  As it is, it is no longer I myself who do it, but it is sin living in me.  For I know that good itself does not dwell in me, that is, in my sinful nature.  For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out.  For I do not do the good I want to do, but the evil I do not want to do—this I keep on doing.  Now if I do what I do not want to do, it is no longer I who do it, but it is sin living in me that does it.

It is a sin to deprive my husband.  Full stop!

Just a few thoughts on this:

  1. I need to surrender – we all need to surrender to God.  On our own, we can never even come close to this higher calling God has called us to.  That is why God has left his Holy Spirit with us; His help who will help us and guide us and show us the way to go.
  2. I need to trust our Intercessors:  Both the Holy Spirit and Jesus intercede on our behalf.  We need to trust that they’re praying for our holiness, because we need to be holy to truly commune with God.
  3. We need to internalize – using visualization, therapy, mentoring or whatever works for you.  But, it’s no good knowing the Word of God cognitively, but it never touches your heart.
  4. We need to act out – as I have read: Act, until…  In other words, starting the actions very often changes our thoughts.  Don’t feel loving?  Act like you do until it becomes a reality.  Don’t feel sexy?  Act like you do until it becomes who you are.  Don’t feel kind?  Act until you are.  This isn’t being false or pretending – this is working on becoming the person that you want to be: loving, kind and sexy (or whatever other aspects you want to be).  You need to think it, understand it and then act it until it starts to feel natural..  then it becomes who you are.
  5. We need to start small.  I cannot change our whole sexual dynamic in five minutes.  What I can do is do something small – make sure I greet him with a kiss when he gets home and keep doing that until it becomes part of what we do (see point 4 above).  Or hold his hand while watching TV…  I cannot become holy and be the faithful wife I want to be just by having a thought pop into my head.  But, I can make small changes that will have a ripple effect, until big changes happen.  Start small.
  6. Never give up.  Being a faithful wife takes hard work, dedication and loads of frustration that I’m not there yet (well, at least that’s me…:), but if I give up.  I’ll never get there.

So, my focus is to internalize all this profound wisdom 🙂 that I share with you each week, so much so that my actions start changing, because my thoughts, my words and my attitude has changed…

Leave a Reply

