Wings to Soar!


Wednesdays are Love Letters to my Husband days…

To my darling, Husband

I think I have known from the first moment that we met that you and I would together in this walk of life for the long haul.  I often wonder how I managed to bag myself a husband who not only loved me, but was committed to me and my welfare through the good times, the bad times and every other time in-between.  I love that when you throw yourself into something – you do it 110%; there is no holding back or half measures.  And I thank you for that same commitment to me, our marriage and our family.  There are no half measures with you.  

Marriage can only work when both partners are fully committed to that marriage and the quality of that marriage.  In one sense, it’s so simple.  Most people know what to do when it comes to having a happy, fulfilling marriage.  Most people find it very difficult to do those things.  We’re selfish and usually want our own way…  but you, my love, are committed to my welfare and happiness, and to seeing through the bad times with me.  For being with me through weight gain, unhealthy eating patterns, anxiety issues and so much more – and yet your commitment still stands.

Thank you for being amazing you!  Thank you that no matter where I am in life with regards to my weight, anxiety, or anything else, I know that I can trust your commitment to me.  I am sorry that I have made life hard for you at times; it can’t be easy being married to me.

Thank you for being you!

And thank you for your commitment to me!

I am sorry, my love, for holding you back.  I know I get fearful and anxious, and I need to feel some sort of semblance of control.  But, God did not make you that way – He made you with wings to soar and reach the skies, to go out there and experience life, to try something new – to live to the fullness that you can.  Trust me, my love, when I say that I am constantly working on being the wife that will help you reach greater heights, and not ever hold you back.

Isaiah 40:31 NIV

but those who hope in the Lord
    will renew their strength.
They will soar on wings like eagles;
    they will run and not grow weary,
    they will walk and not be faint.

Leave a Reply

