Faithful Fridays – Holiness! (Your words!)


F  A  I  T  H  F  U  L

Happy and Holy!

Oh my!  I have a bit of a sharp tongue.  I can cut someone down to size in one foul swoop.   But, you see, I don’t retaliate quickly: I think about what I want to say then find the perfect opportunity.  Like at wine club: did you see how much so-and-so had for supper?  I could never eat that much.  Sadly, I’m not even joking.  Or:  Did you hear what so-and-so said about so-and-so.  It is true…

And yet, God warns us so often about the tongue – what we say hurts people.  It can bring them down, it can literally take the wind from their sails, it can bring someone down to a very low level that it would be so hard for them to crawl their way back up again.  Words hurt.

And why does God speak about words so often in the Bible?

Because words reflect what is going on in your heart and mind.

Luke 6:44-46 NIV:  Each tree is recognized by its own fruit.  People do not pick figs from thorn bushes, or grapes from briers.  A good man brings good things out of the good stored up in his heart, and an evil man brings evil things out of the evil stored up in his heart.  For the mouth speaks what the heart is full of.  Emphasis mine.

So, what does that say about me?

It says that if I want to be holy, I need to watch to what I say.  And in order to watch what I say, I need to watch what is in my heart.

Proverbs 4:23 NIV: Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it.

How does this pertain to marriage?

Well, you have to be very careful with your tongue in marriage.  Imagine living with someone who cut you down every time you said or did something; who thought it important to bring you down a notch, to make sure you always knew why they were so unhappy…  I don’t want to be that person!

Leave a Reply

