Faithful Fridays – Holiness! (Your attitude!)


F  A  I  T  H  F  U  L

Happy and Holy!

I have to admit it – there are times when I think I’m thinking the right thoughts, and times when I think I’m doing the right things, but my attitude just sucks.  I’m not being loving or kind.  I’m being miserable, and fearful and anxious.  Even though I think I’m thinking the right thoughts, and even though I think I’m doing the right things, I know that my attitude isn’t where it should be.

And it can be for a myriad of reasons: I’m tired, I just don’t feel like it, I forget that I’m a daughter of the most High King and I don’t act accordingly…  I am human, I am frail and even though my spirit is willing, I can be so weak sometimes and just give into seriously negativity and a general bad attitude.

But, when it comes to marriage, having a bad attitude can be seriously damaging.  It can bring down the whole tone of a marriage to a rather low-level.  Yes, I get that tiredness, busyness, and a whole host of other issues can make us have a rather lousy attitude towards life in general and marriage, specifically.  But, here’s the thing:  we need to display God’s love to the world, so we need to raise the bar.  We need to expect more from ourselves – not for any reason, but because God has called us to a higher standard.  God has called us to be Jesus to our marriages, to our families, to the people we work with and being snide, and rude, and having a general bad attitude doesn’t show that.

So, yes, God is forgiving – of course He is.  Yes, we get tired and angry and frustrated.  I’m not talking sin issues here – I’m talking about displaying God’s love to our spouses through a good attitude, a holy attitude, love and kindness.

“Don’t become so well-adjusted to your culture that you fit into it without even thinking.  Instead, fix your attention on God.  You’ll be changed from the inside out.  Readily recognize what he wants from you, and quickly respond to it.  Unlike the culture around you, always dragging you down to its level of immaturity, God brings the best out of you, develops well-formed maturity in you.”  Romans 12:2 (The Message)

We need to raise the bar and adjust our attitudes in obedience to God.

Make sure your attitude is holy and lives up to the standard by which God has called us to live.

Leave a Reply

