Faithful Fridays – Holiness! (Unequally yoked)


F  A  I  T  H  F  U  L

Happy and Holy!

I have had a number of revelations this past week that have been simply amazing.  And the reason why I am telling you about this is because I believe that it is holiness, and learning to live like Christ, that opens your heart and your mind to actually hearing God.  There are many ways that God can speak to us, but remember: if it contradicts God’s word, it can’t be from God.  Nothing that you hear that you think is from God will ever contradict the Bible.  However, God can talk to us directly – through our thoughts and feelings, through people, through the church, through what we read.  All of our circumstances are unique and God can and will speak directly to our circumstances: if only we would listen.

Well, just this past weekend, hubby and I had a situation.  I was in the wrong.  Very clearly – although it didn’t seem like it at the time :-).  But, as I was writing to hubby on Wednesday to explain how sorry I was, I clearly got the image that I am allowing my personal issue to bring us to the point of being unequally yoked.  Now, I am not very articulate, and I hope I can explain myself clearly here – the bible refers to being unequally yoked to an unbeliever.  In other words, if you’re a believer, do not become unequally yoked by marrying an unbeliever.  Yes, yes, and yes!  And if you are already married, and then became a believer, but your spouse hasn’t made that crucial step of faith, then you quite simply remain married.

2 Corinthians 6:14 NIV

Warning Against Idolatry

Do not be yoked together with unbelievers.  For what do righteousness and wickedness have in common?  Or what fellowship can light have with darkness?


1 Corinthians 7:13-15 NIV

And if a woman has a husband who is not a believer and he is willing to live with her, she must not divorce him.  For the unbelieving husband has been sanctified through his wife, and the unbelieving wife has been sanctified through her believing husband.  Otherwise your children would be unclean, but as it is, they are holy.

And yet, I honestly feel that there is a little more to this.  Perhaps just for me – perhaps for everyone.  You see, while not being unequally yoked in faith is certainly the basis for everything – there are many more ways you can be unequally yoked.  In thought, in actions, in personality, in so much more.  Imagine a rough, tattooed biker marrying a  sweet innocent librarian?  Yes, they could both be Christian and still be unequally yolked.  And what I realised was this; hubby and I have always been equally yoked: in thought, in what was important to us, in the ways we enjoyed relaxing, in how we managed our lives, our health, etc.  We were pretty much of a like-mindedness in all areas; except now I have allowed my anxiety to pull me down, to make us unequally yoked as I try control and manipulate situations to control my anxiety, and then pulling my amazing husband down to my level.  And what I realised on Wednesday is this: I need to stop pulling my husband down to my level, and start living life up on his level.  I need to become equally yoked with my husband again.  I am so grateful for God’s word to me – because it has made me once again realise just how important marriage is to God.  And I cannot allow my fear and anxiety to dominate!

For us to be truly intimate, and to be truly equally yoked, I need to up my game and start living life on your level; instead of bringing you down to mine.  Reference here.


The second happened just this morning and I seriously had to laugh at the irony of it all: you see, for Lent I have given up sleeping in and get up a little earlier to pray and read my bible.  This morning’s verse was:

1 Thessalonians 3:12-13 NIV

May the Lord make your love increase and overflow for each other and for everyone else, just as ours does for you.  May he strengthen your hearts so that you will be blameless and holy in the presence of our God and Father when our Lord Jesus comes with all his holy ones.

Now, if you have been following my blog for any length of time, you will know the extreme anxiety I feel when eating a meal – fears of dying, choking, etc plague my mind.  And I am always a little more sensitive to this in the morning.  Usually I have this time to myself.  But, I couldn’t get the fridge open (seriously), so I had to wake hubby up and get him to help me.  Then, instead of going back to bed, he made himself a cup of coffee.  And then it was like God was saying to me – here is the one for whom I will make your love increase and overflow.  I know it may sound daft, but – for me – it was amazing.  And then, I made us breakfast, and again, it was as if God was saying to me: I will strengthen your heart so even at more sensitive meal times, my blessing is upon you.  So, now, in this very pertinent verse – appears my husband.  And God speaking to me.

I can tell you one thing though – I love hearing from God.  He puts things into perspective.  He changes hearts and minds.  He grows us to become like His son.  He makes the difficulties of life so worthwhile.  All I can ask and hope and pray is that God will continue to speak to me.  I feel very humbled – and I honestly hope it doesn’t sound like I am boasting – that God would even consider me.  This is what holiness does – it allows God to commune with us, and that is why – as difficult as it may be – it is so important to pursue holiness.

Colossians 1:21-23 NIV

 Once you were alienated from God and were enemies in your minds because of your evil behavior.  But now he has reconciled you by Christ’s physical body through death to present you holy in his sight, without blemish and free from accusation…

Leave a Reply

