Love Letters to my Husband


Remember the days before cellphones, emails and What’s App?  The days when actual love letters were hand written?  The days when letters arrived via snail mail and the excitement and anticipation of reading what was sent?  I’m all for email and cellphones and Internet, but we have lost a certain je ne sais quoi.  I love getting a handwritten note or card.  It shows that something was given thought and intent and not merely just scrabbled off in a hasty moment and sent.

Having said that, however…

I have decided to make Wednesdays “Love Letters to my Husband” days, to express to him and to myself what an amazing man he is (lest, I forget and contempt rears its ugly head).

To my darling husband,

On Sunday, we have been married for 17 years.  Wow – seventeen years.  On the one hand I am in awe that we have made it this far.  We have had some really tough years, some struggling years, some years where I thought I’d never be able to get back to what we once had, years of doubt and fear and years filled with anxiety.  So, I am very proud that we have made 17 years.  There are many couples, some of whom we know personally, that haven’t even gotten as far – that for whatever their personal reasons are, have given up and walked away.  Thank you, my love, for sticking with me through 17 years of marriage and 19 years of knowing me.  

On the other hand, I feel like we’ve hardly really begun to live married life.  I realise that is perhaps a skewed perception, because handling our struggles and dealing with day-to-day battles with my best friend and lover IS living life.  But, sometimes I honestly feel like we’re just starting out.

I am very proud to have you by my side – even when I was as grumpy as anything this morning, you took it in your stride, and still tried to make me laugh and smile.  You know me so well – in fact, I have come to realise that you know me even better than what I know myself.

My darling, my love, my sole purpose in this life is to be your partner, your friend, your lover – and in doing that, give glory to the God I believe in with all my heart, soul and mind.  Being with you is the reason why God created me and has blessed us with the most amazing child a couple could ever have hoped for.

This is the kind of wife I want to be – for you and to give glory to God:

F – Faithful.  To God and to you, in word and thought and deed.

A – Accepting of who you are and who God created you to be.

I – Interesting that I keep myself interesting to you and I don’t allow myself to get caught in such a rut that I become boring and you lose interest.

T – Trustworthy and Trusting.  That I can trust God and you, but that I am also trustworthy; that you can trust me with your heart and your mind and your soul.

H – Happy and Holy.  No body wants to be married to someone who is miserable, but also that I can live my life according to God’s standards and not the worlds.

F – Fearless.  A big one for me – that anxiety and fear will not hold be back from living a life that honours God and you.

U – Understanding; that I can be the kind of wife who understand what you are about, and understand who you are and understand your circumstances and your needs.

L – Loving and Loyal.  I want to be the kind of wife who loves you deeply, and is also loving and affectionate, but I also want to be loyal.  I never want to be betray you in any way (not even in my thoughts).

Thank you for spending the last 17 years with me.  Thank you for loving me, for being with me, for being my safe place from the world when I am tired and weary and anxious and scared.

I am looking forward to the next 17 years with awe and anticipation – I am proud to be your wife and I love you.

Your Wife,

The Baby Mama

5 thoughts on “Love Letters to my Husband

  1. This is beautiful! Congrats on being 17 years married..that is wonderful.
    Take a look at my blog for christian married women:
    Loftforum.wordpress.com
    I invite you to read:
    “Seduce Your Husband”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

