Being Faithful…


My word for this year, well – actually, it is more my word for my marriage and for the kind of wife I want to be for the rest of my life – is FAITHFUL.  Faithful is an acronym for: Faithful

Accepting

Interesting

Trustworthy

Happy and Holy

Fearless

Understanding

Loving and Loyal.

Dictionary.com defines faithful as:

adjective:

1.  strict or thorough in the performance of duty: a faithful worker.
2.  true to one’s word, promises, vows, etc.
3.  steady in allegiance or affection; loyal; constant: faithful friends.
4.  reliable, trusted, or believed.
5.  adhering or true to fact, a standard, or an original; accurate: a faithful account; a faithful copy.
6.  Obsolete. full of faith; believing.

Firstly, let’s look at what it means when the Bible says that God is faithful to us:

Faithfulness is one of the characteristics of God’s ethical nature.  It denotes the firmness or constancy of God in His relations with men, especially with His people.  It is, accordingly, one aspect of God’s truth and of His unchangeableness.  God is true not only because He is really God in contrast to all that is not God, and because He realizes the idea of Godhead, but also because He is constant or faithful in keeping His promises, and therefore is worthy of trust (see TRUTH).  God, likewise, is unchangeable in His ethical nature.  This unchangeableness the Scripture often connects with God’s goodness and mercy, and also with His constancy in reference to His covenant promises, and this is what the Old Testament means by the Faithfulness of God…  Reference here.

In a nutshell, God will always love us, be true to us, comfort us, be true to His word – because God is faithful to us, we can trust Him.  We can surrender ourselves to Him and know that He loves us, cares about us and wants us to be renewed in our thinking and in our wills to be like His son, Jesus Christ.  God is faithful to us and can constantly be faithful to us without waving because He is God.  He simply just is…

However…

We, as simple humans, need to learn how to be faithful.

For most of us, being faithful simply means not having sex with anyone else.

For most relationships, being faithful means not having sex with other people.  It also means that you refrain from investing romantically in others.  This means that most of your attention, love, respect should be directed toward your partner.  Reference here.

But, I really believe – or rather, I am coming to understand – that being faithful is so much more than just not having sex with someone else.

It’s about being faithful to your partner by loving them, honouring them and respecting them in thought, and word, and deed.  It really does no good if you’ve never had sex with anyone else, but every time you make love to your husband you’re fantasizing about the neighbour who lives next door and mows his lawn without his shirt on.  It’s not just the actions of faithfulness that count (although that is vitally important), it’s the intent, the thought and the motive that is just as important.

Being faithful is pro-active – it’s a searching, a yearning to show love and affection and being a help-meet to your husband.  There is nothing passive about being faithful.

It is my prayer that this year God will teach me to be faithful:

  • In my thought life – that when I think of my husband, I think of him as a child of God who God has blessed my life with; that I think of him with respect and gratitude and love.
  • In my words – that I don’t bash my husband’s name or his reputation when I’m catch up with my girlfriends, but that even when they are all badmouthing their husbands, I praise mine for all that he has done for me.
  • In my actions – that in the absence of pursuing an adulterous relationship, I actively and proactively pursue being faithful to my husband by showing him love, and respect, by what I do…  Not just by what I do NOT do.

I want to:

  1. I want to be thorough in the performance of my duty as a wife.  My husband and I were brought together for me to be a help meet to him (not the other way around).  And I want to be faithful to him in what I do to help him.
  2. I want to be true to my word, my promise, my vow:  to love him and honour him all the days of my life until death us do part.
  3. I want to faithful and steady in my allegiance to him and our marriage and faithful to show him affection; to be loyal.
  4. I want to be reliable, trustworthy, believable…
  5. I want to be true to my word, to what I say and how I speak to my husband, but also to family and friends when my husband isn’t around.

May God guide me and teach me to love, honour and respect my husband in thought and word and deed.

2 thoughts on “Being Faithful…

Leave a Reply

