Intimacy – A new day…


God’s mercies are new every morning.  We see it as we begin a new day, in the sunrise, the smell of the fresh morning air, the start of a new day…  But also as we start new seasons of life.

Lamentations 3:22-23 (ESV)The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.

This past week, I have had a bit of an epiphany – the other day, on my other blog, I posted about I could be emotionally aloof at times, that I didn’t feel the way I ought to feel, that cognitively I knew what I should feel, but the actual emotion often eluded me.  But, then, this epiphany hit.

You see, my Dad, although not the monster I was led to believe he was my entire life, was nevertheless emotionally distant from his children (I have two brothers).  He fell very strongly into the category of knowing that there will little humans running around the house, he just wasn’t sure if he’d actually ever seen us… 🙂

But, I grew up relating to the only male figure I had ever known as being distant, cold, emotionally aloof – quite how I often treat my husband.

I had not known that before...

And the more I think about it, the more I realise that it is true.

Even my brothers left me alone – I was not close to either of them (one is three years older, the other seven years younger).

But, the epiphany is not only realising that this is what I am doing, but that my husband is not my father, nor is he my brothers.  He is kind and gentle and caring, and loving, both to me and to Baby Girl.  He is involved in our lives.

And the new mercies: is that I can each day learn something new that will help to continue to grow in intimacy with my God and with my husband.  Each day, I can focus on servign him, treating him and reacting to him like the lover and husband he is, and not as I would react to my father and brothers.  It is hard because one doesn’t dismiss old habits that have taken a lifetime to build in a day – you practice at it, day-by-day, moment-by-moment…  You change your thinking and your thoughts, you change your reactions, and each day we can turn to God for His mercies and know that God is forever and for always on our side.

I praise God that each day I am learning something new.  And I am slowly (very slowly) learning how to put what I am learning into action.  I know that I will reap this harvest – God has told me so through His word.

Galations 6:9 – Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.

MY WORD FOR THE YEAR – 2016

Intimacy – Time

Intimacy – Climbing a Wall

Intimacy – that one move!

Intimacy – Talking

Intimacy – Saying Sorry!

Intimacy – that one word

Intimacy – touch

Intimacy – those awkward moments

Intimacy – a sacrament…

Intimacy – Resting

Intimacy – Seven Red Flags

Intimacy – being separate

Intimacy – Never Giving Up

Intimacy – Honour

Intimacy – God

16 thoughts on “Intimacy – A new day…

Leave a Reply

