Intimacy – God


Over this series, and my growth this year, I have been focusing predominantly on intimacy with your husband (or wife).  But, how do you grow closer to the almighty God?  A God who we cannot physically see, touch, hear or converse with?  We all know what to do – pray more, read your bible more, go to church more…  And yes, each of those things are valid, and need to be done, but I don’t think it really gets to the heart of what intimacy with God truly means.

I believe there is more…

To truly be intimate with God we have to let Him in.

You know what I mean – truly let Him in.  We so often tend to hide who we truly are from God – even though He already knows.  Just like Adam and Eve in the Garden of Eden, we realise that we are truly naked, and we hide away in shame and guilt.  But, God knows us – He knows everything about us and He still loves us, despite our shame and guilt and sin.  In fact, He loves us so much that He sent His only son to die for us.

In Him, there is no condemnation.

Romans 8:1 King James Version (KJV)

There is therefore now no condemnation to them which are in Christ Jesus, who walk not after the flesh, but after the Spirit.

And so those parts of my soul that I keep hidden, hidden from my spouse, my family, my friends, even myself – those parts of me that cause me embarrassment, shame and fear, those parts of me that I choose to ignore because, quite frankly, I don’t know what to do with them.

And that is true intimacy with God – it comes through reading the bible, praying, cultivating a relationship with Him, going to church, but the aim is to truly let God in, and allowing Him to change us to become like Christ.  And it is so hard to do.  I often find myself praying about issues that are important to me, but that don’t really invite Him into my heart.  Lord, resolve our financial issues – instead of: Lord, teach me to rely on you.  It’s hard and it’s unfair, because I would really like to live my life beyond battling financially from month to month.  But, I don’t think that will ever happen until I truly learn to rely on  God for any and everything.  And it is hard when you see your friends succeeding financially when you’re battling – again, the prayer should be, Lord help me to not be jealous, but give me a gracious and kind heart.  It’s letting God in and letting Him change who we are to be like Christ, to be like His son: pure in thought and word and deed.

And then, only then, do I think that true intimacy with our spouses will happen.

It is always, always God first, walking like Christ and then everything else.  I am not saying that we mustn’t love our spouses or families – we should, we need to so that they can experience a glimpse of God’s love for them through us.  But, our love for our families and spouses should pale in comparison to our love for Him.

We are called to a higher standard as Christians – no matter how tough that standard may be.

Change my heart oh GodMake it ever trueChange my heart oh GodMay I be like YouChange my heart oh GodMake it ever trueChange my heart oh GodMay I be like YouYou are the potterI am the clayMold me and make meThis is what I prayChange my heart oh GodMake it ever trueChange my heart oh GodMay I be like YouReference here.


MY WORD FOR THE YEAR – 2016

Intimacy – Time

Intimacy – Climbing a Wall

Intimacy – that one move!

Intimacy – Talking

Intimacy – Saying Sorry!

Intimacy – that one word

Intimacy – touch

Intimacy – those awkward moments

Intimacy – a sacrament…

Intimacy – Resting

Intimacy – Seven Red Flags

Intimacy – being separate

Intimacy – Never Giving Up

Intimacy – Honour

17 thoughts on “Intimacy – God

Leave a Reply

