A verse a day – for 40 days (Day 19)


Humility – “Do nothing from selfish ambition or conceit, but in humility count others more significant than yourselves.  Let each of you look not only to his own interests, but also to the interests of others.”  Phil. 2:3-4

Dear Lord,

I pray for the strength and the grace to be able to truly and honestly humble myself before you and before my husband, so that I too can get to the point of living my life by not doing anything from selfish motives, or being self-serving, allowing me to express love and kindness and grace to my husband by counting him as being more significant than myself.  Help me to not flaunt my own interests, but to focus on what interests him – to encourage him, to lift him up and to quite simply to love him for the man you have created him to be.

Lord – my mind still boggles at the fact that you saw – and still do see – this little girl in Port Elizabeth who was so lost and alone and bewildered by life and that you saw me.  You.  Saw.  Me.  And now, you still see me.  You see my thoughts and my struggles, my fears and my insecurities, and you love me.  And in the same way, you see my husband.  You see him Lord in a way that I could never – you know his hurts, his past, his pains and you see him.  And you love him.

Help me Lord to truly see him and to truly love him.  Help me Holy Spirit to honour him with kindness, and love, and looking after his interests and who he is as a person.  I may be the only person in the world through whom he can see your love.  Help me dear Lord, because I cannot do this on my own.

images

In Jesus Name I pray.

Amen

Leave a Reply

