Gratitude – Day 1


I have been recently challenged again of the wisdom of showing gratitude, and being thankful for one’s lot in life.  I read a post yesterday about a couple of things one could do to start impacting change in your marriage (and for the life of me I cannot find the link or blog post), but one of the things was to show gratitude.

1 Thessalonians 5:18 KJV

In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.

And the post – I promise it existed – even though I can’t find it now – encouraged us to do other things like greet your husband when he comes home, or put on some lipstick and brush your hair to make yourself look pretty for him.  Take a walk with your husband after dinner, and try going to bed at the same time.

All these things are small, and may even seem insignificant, but they start a ripple effect that could change the course of your marriage.

I’ve opted to focus on five things every day for which I am grateful when it comes to my family and my husband.  Why?  Because my brain and spirit likes to focus on the negative.  I need to be very intentional about thinking the good things and focusing on the good things.  So, I am taking up the challenge to focus on giving gratitude for my husband and family over the next 21 days:

  1. I am grateful I have a husband.  So many people are lonely, and would love to have a partner to share their lives with and I have this most amazing husband who comes home to me every night.
  2. I am grateful I have a daughter.  I never thought I’d be a mom, but this journey with Baby Girl over the last six years has been the most challenging, the most difficult, but the most rewarding six years of my life.
  3. I am grateful that my family and i sit at the dinner table each night and chat and laugh and enjoy some time together.  So many family just eat in front of the TV and I enjoy these family times together.
  4. I am grateful that my husband makes the most delicious food every night – and he washes the dishes.  A lot of men still expect their wives to work a full day, make supper, and sort out the kids.  He is never afraid to step in and help.
  5. I am grateful for my life – it has been flagged with hardships and difficulties, but looking back I know that God has been with me every step of the way.

Being grateful is so much better than being bitter, or angry, or resentful.  I am really focusing on gratitude.

2 thoughts on “Gratitude – Day 1

Leave a Reply

