A prayer for marriage


Generous and merciful God, give me a hunger and thirst for righteousness so that I can live satisfied by You.  I don’t want to demand more from my husband than he is supposed to provide.  Teach me to hear your voice so I can follow You all the days of my life and my marriage.  Dear Lord, Wonderful Counselor, make me wise to the enemy’s divisive and destructive schemes.  Fill me with Your wisdom so I can excel as the Baby Daddy’s wife.  Guide me into being a wife that will honor you, glorify you and love and respect my husband as you have commanded.

Grant me a humble heart. Help me relinquish a false sense of control.  I want to live a praying life.

Mighty God, strengthen me to stand under Your authority every day in every way.  Please forgive me for the ways I have dismissed Your perfect leadership.  Jesus, pour Your faith into me so that I can deflect the flaming arrows the enemy sends my way.  Use me as a warrior of Your word in our marriage.

Father, help me see my husband through Your eyes.  I want to honor and cherish Him.  I want to focus on his value and avoid the temptation to disregard his unique contributions to our marriage.

I pray, dear Lord, that you will give me the desire and the opportunity to love my husband well – to obey your word in respecting him and loving him, but more to bring honor and glory to you.

Philippians 2:13 NIV

13 for it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose.

Verses: Matthew 5:6John 10:27Isaiah 9:6, James 1:5, 2 Corinthians 10:5Ephesians 1:17, Ephesians 5:22-33Proverbs 16:18Ephesians 6:10, 11, 13, 14Hebrews 12:2, Ephesians 6:17

Reference here.

Leave a Reply

