The Passion Principles by Shannon Ethridge


The Passion Principles by Shannon Ethridge

This is the second book in The Marriage Challenge by Sheila Wray Gregoire.

To be honest – I am at a bit of a loss for words, because I found myself saying, yes, yes, yes to everything Shannon says in her book, but how do I blog about that?  It’s such a personal journey and there are so many profound truths in her book that short of plagiarizing her entire book and copying the whole thing here, I think the best option is quite simply to buy her book and read it for yourself.

Read it with an open heart and an open mind.

Shannon challenges our view of sexuality and God – and one of the aspects I found most challenging is seeing Jesus as a sexual being.  He was fully human and tempted in every way that we are, so I found myself floundering a little at the thought.  But, it makes so much sense.  We are all sexual beings – and for far too long we have hidden that away and tried to deny it as if though it doesn’t exist.

But, what if God wants us to celebrate our sexuality – to use our sex as an act of worship?  To celebrate our sexual thoughts and desires as part of how God has created us – it is nothing to be ashamed of or embarrassed about.

Psalm 139:13 NIV

13 For you created my inmost being;
you knit me together in my mother’s womb.

And while this book theorizes about the sexuality of God (expressed as both male and female throughout scripture), she also gives very practical advice on how to enjoy and celebrate your sexuality.

It is a must read.
Even if you don’t agree with everything.

Shannon will challenge you in a way that may just open your mind to a new way of viewing sex.

In the confines of your marriage – that is where sex is safest.  And growing and enjoying your marriage more is always worth the effort of being challenged to think a little differently…

Thank you, Shannon Ethridge…

P.S.  I read this book so quickly, I’ve bought her Fantasy Fallacy to read for the rest of February… 🙂

2 thoughts on “The Passion Principles by Shannon Ethridge

Leave a Reply

