Day 28:  Intimacy in marriage


Today is day 28 of Jennifer Smith’s 30 day devotional, Wife After God.  I wish we didn’t only have two days left…  I have really enjoyed this 30 day devotional and would encourage all wives to work through this book.  It will be of great benefit to you and to your marriage.

“God’s purpose for marriage is for a husband and wife to experience a love relationship, where they passionately pursue each other daily, where the ups and downs draw them closer together, a place where true intimacy thrives.”  Reference: Wife After God

Why?

Because that is how God loves this world and His church.

And it is hard.  To constantly open yourself up to someone else who may or may not understand what you are about, can be scary.  It can be very scary.  And I, who seems to constantly carry this burden of anxiety, battle to allow myself to feel vulnerable with my husband.  And yet, I know that to have a good, healthy marriage, I must do so.  It is God’s purpose of our marriage to be healthy and whole, and although it is disconcerting that it feels like it is taking so long, I cannot give up.

We can allow our thoughts to dwell on what we haven’t done, why we ought to be more spiritual, or how spiritual we ought to be after all these years in our Christian faith.  That’s a trick of the devil—to make us think of our defects and shortcomings.  If we focus on what we’re not or what we haven’t accomplished, we are allowing the devil to make advances on the battlefield of our minds. … Life is a struggle, and the devil is determined to defeat and destroy us.  We don’t ever reach the place where we never have to fight.  But it’s not just our fight.  Jesus is not only with us, but He is for us.  He’s at our side to strengthen us and to urge us onward.  “Don’t quit.  Don’t give up.”  That’s the message we need to hear.  I think of the words of Isaiah: “Fear not, for I have redeemed you . . . ; I have called you by your name; you are Mine.  When you pass through the waters, I will be with you, and through the rivers, they will not overwhelm you.  When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned or scorched, nor will the flame kindle upon you” (Isaiah 43:1b–2).  This is God’s promise.  He doesn’t promise to take us completely out of troubles or hardships, but He does promise to be with us as we go through them.  “Fear not,” He says.  That’s the message we need to ponder.  We don’t need to fear because God is with us.  And when God is with us, what is there to worry about?   Reference Joyce Meyer

And that is what we need to do.  Walk God’s walk, live our marriages out in God’s way, and then let Him do the rest.  Is this not His battle, after all?

God did not give me a spirit of fear, but of power, love and a sound mind.

Prayer:

“Dear Lord, I lift up my marriage to you in thankfulness.  You know every detail of my marriage, what my husband and I have been through and where we are currently.  May you help us to increase where we are currently.  May you help us to increase our intimacy.  I desire to know my husband deeply, but I also know that requires that I am vulnerable and honest with him.  Please give me the courage to open up to my husband, to talk about important matters of the heart, to share each other’s goals, and to encourage each other in great ways.  I pray that I can be a wife willing to initiate sexually, willing to serve joyfully, and willing to love extravagantly.  May your Holy Spirit ignite a fire in our marriage, a desire to draw close to one another and to become familiar with each other.  I pray that you would soften my husband’s heart towards me.  Bless him with a desire to get to know me more.  I pray against the enemy from stealing moments of intimacy, distracting us with selfish desires and tempting us away from experiencing true intimacy.  May our love story and our intimacy reveal your power so that others may be encouraged,  In Jesus’ name.  AMEN!” Reference Wife After God.

@unveiledwife

#WifeAfterGod

Leave a Reply

