Day 22:  Prayer for your marriage


Today is day 22 of Jennifer Smith’s 30 day devotional, Wife After God.

I pray for my marriage all the time.  I’ve gone from thinking it is silly to pray for my marriage, that it should just work – to praying for my marriage every opportunity I get.  I’ve realised just how important prayer is in general, and how important prayer is specifically for your marriage.  When you consider that you are two very different people, from different backgrounds, different schooling, homes, with different thoughts and ideas, you can see why it is so difficult to make a marriage work.  I’m amazed that so many marriages do work – but they work because of the grace of two very flawed individuals who want to make it work.  And that grace comes because of the grace of God.

“There will never be a lack of things to pray for with your husband.  Designate time every day to thank God and to lift your requests up to Him.  Pray for the day and the plans you two have made, pray that your hearts are sensitive towards God and towards each other, pray over struggles that tempt you, pray protection over your relationship and always pray that God would teach you how to love better.  Invite God to be part of your lives, to walk alongside you, and on difficult days ask Him to carry you.  Prayer is phenomenally effective.  When you and your husband are having a hard day, whether due to conflict or perhaps health issues burdening, stop everything and go to God together in prayer!  Devote yourselves to prayer for your marriage and experience transformation together.”  (Reference here).

 Dear Lord, I thank you for my husband.  I pray that you will guard him and guide each day of his life.  I pray that you will protect his heart and his mind.  And I pray that you will bless him – he is such a precious man, I pray that he will know that he is loved and cared for by you.  I pray that you will protect my marriage and my family.  I pray that you will bring my husband and I closer together.  I love you, Lord.  Thank you for bringing my husband into my life.  In Jesus’ name, AMEN!”

@unveiledwife

#WifeAfterGod

Leave a Reply

