Day 20:  Prayer for You


Today is day 20 of Jennifer Smith’s 30 day devotional, Wife After God.

When I was first married I had this fear of things not working out between hubby and I.  All I wanted to do was make our first wedding anniversary to say that at least we made a year.  And I used to pray.  And I felt silly for praying about my marriage because I had this thought that you shouldn’t need to pray for your marriage.  Ever.  And in praying, I was admitting some sort of weakness.  Now, I realise just how silly I was believing those lies.  It is probably because of those prayers that my hubby and I will be celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary come January.

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

Rejoice always,  pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.

And this is what I do – I try as often as I can to take stock of my life and to thank God for all my many blessings.  I lift my marriage, my husband and I up in prayer and pray blessings over Baby Girl, my marriage and our lives.  I do this in the car on the way to work, and very often in the car on the way home.  I have seen God answer my prayers, especially when it comes to anxiety.  I know that I have a long way to go, but I have seen what God has done so far, and I find myself getting excited at what is still to come.

John 10:10

The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.

And I will continue to pray for my marriage.  I will continue to lift my husband up in prayer.  I will continue to pray for myself, for Baby Girl for her future husband and marriage.  I will continue to pray for our finances.  Because it is in prayer that we honour God through faith and He is always moved to answer.  The answer may not be what we want or think we want, but it is always for our good and to our benefit.

Romans 8:28

And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.

We were not meant to go through this world alone.  God is with us every step of the way, but we need to approach God with our wants, needs and desires and have faith in Him that He will work in our situation to His glory and for our benefit.

Genesis 2:18

 And the Lord God said, “It is not good that the man should be alone; I will make him a helper meet for him.”

“Be intentional about pursuing time every day to pray for yourself.  Share with God your everything, about your life, about your emotions, about the condition of your heart, about needs that you have, about your appreciation, about answered prayers, about change you are experiencing, about change you desire to experience and about His will.  You can pray out loud or in your heart, God hears both!  Also, be intentional about listing to God.  He will respond to you, perhaps in different and unique ways, but He will respond.  You are His beloved daughter, His everything!”  Reference here.

Dear Lord, I thank you that I am your child.  Thank you for all my blessings.  Thank you for my husband and my daughter.  Thank you for always looking after my family.  You are truly a great God.  Thank you that you have called me to be a wife to my husband and mother to my daughter.  I pray that you will protect my marriage and my family.  I pray that you will bring my husband and I closer together.  I pray that you would mould me into the wife my husband needs me to be, and into the mother my daughter needs me to be.  I pray for the grace and strength to be a better wife and mother.  I love you, Lord.  And I thank you that I love my husband and daughter.  Work in me to be someone who honours you in my life, in my marriage and in my parenting.  In Jesus’ name, AMEN!

@unveiledwife

#WifeAfterGod

Leave a Reply

