Day 19:  Who You are Called to Be


Today is day 19 of Jennifer Smith’s 30 day devotional, Wife After God.

Who has God called you to be?  It is interesting to me – and perhaps I am wrong – but very seldom does it seem that God calls us to a specific vocation.  Of course, there are those who definitely have that call on their lives – those of us who know without a shadow of a doubt that they are called to be a doctor, a lawyer, a social worker…  But, not everyone has that type of calling.   However, we are ALL called to be God’s children, and to live the gospel out in our lives.  And living out the gospel and being a child of God means being loving, kind, gracious…

Galatians 5:22-23

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness,  gentleness and self-control. 

And we are all called to honour God in our daily lives – irrespective of whether you have a vocation calling or not.  People around us need to see that we have Christ in our lives – without us having to say one word.

Bless the Lord at All Times

by Joyce Meyer – posted August 05, 2014

I will bless the Lord at all times; His praise shall continually be in my mouth. Psalm 34:1

At times it seems like the whole world lives in fear and dread, but God’s children should not.  We are to behave differently from the people of the world; we should let our light shine.  Just being positive in a negative circumstance is a way to do this.  The world will notice when we are stable in every kind of situation.  Make up your mind right now that all of life does not need to make you feel good in order for you to face it with peace and joy.  Make a decision that you will not dread anything you have to do.  Do it all with a thankful attitude.

I never considered driving down the street to get a cup of coffee to be a huge privilege until after I had been hospitalized with breast cancer and had surgery.  When I was released, I asked my husband to take me out for a coffee and a drive through a local park. It was amazing how much joy I felt.  I was doing a very simple thing that was previously available to me every day, yet I had never seen it as a privilege.  Our son went on an outreach with a team of people who go visit the homeless each Friday evening, and after helping in this ministry, he was appalled at himself for the things he had murmured about in the past once he saw, by comparison, how some people were living.

We would all feel exactly the same way.  Those without a place to live would love to have a house to clean, while we dread cleaning ours.  They would delight in having a car to drive, even an old one, while we complain about needing to wash ours or take it in for an oil change.  The point is, most of the time we lose sight of how blessed we are, but we should work at keeping it in the front of our thinking.  Be thankful you can do anything in Christ, and don’t dread things you have to do.

Trust in Him What are you thankful for?  If your trust is in Him, you can face anything with peace and joy and gratitude in your heart.

So, who are you called to be?  You are called to be a child of God.  First and foremost.  Then, you are called to be a wife, mother, worker…  And it is in being a child of God that you are able to do all the other aspects on your life with God’s grace.

“Dear Lord, I thank you that I am your child.  I thank you that your love covers a multitude of sins.  I thank you for my husband and my family.  I thank you that you have called me to be your child, but that you have also called me to be a wife to my husband and mother to my daughter.  I pray for the grace first to be your child that displays the Christian virtues of love,  joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness,  gentleness and self-control and in so doing you will, by your grace, help me to be a better wife and mother.  I love you, Lord.  And I thank you that I love my husband and daughter.  Work in me to be someone who honours you in my life, in my marriage and in my parenting.  In Jesus’ name, AMEN!” 

@unveiledwife

#WifeAfterGod

Leave a Reply

