Day 18:  Diamond in the Rough


Today is day 18 of Jennifer Smith’s 30 day devotional, Wife After God.

You know the saying, “What doesn’t kill you, makes you stronger”?  I used to joke that I really didn’t need to be that strong.  And in some ways, I don’t want to be that strong.  I don’t want life and marriage and love and everything else to be that much of a battle.  All.  The.  Time.  But, in today’s reading, Jennifer Smith tilts that whole idea on its head – it’s about being made into a diamond.  And aren’t diamonds a girl’s best friend?  There are many demands placed on each and every one of us – for women to be the perfect wives and mothers, and to hold down a full-time job, and for men to suddenly be in touch with their feminine side, and still provide for the family in a world that makes it increasingly difficult to do so.  And coupled with that is the idea that we are just never good enough, sexy enough, doing enough – there is always more, more, more…

And don’t you just feel, at times, that you want to give it all up.  Find something easier or just wish that life could be easier?

However…

Doesn’t it make it worthwhile to think of yourself as a diamond – rough and perhaps unpolished?  Or still in coal form, but the pressures of life will produce a spectacular diamond?  It gives me great encouragement to know that all that I have been through, am going through and will still go through in this life is working with God to produce a woman of God that both my husband and God (and even perhaps myself) can be proud of.  Of course it isn’t easy.  God never promised easy.  He did promise to be with us though – as long as we never gave up.

And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.  Romans 8:28

Don’t you just find it gives you that little bit of extra strength and motivation to just hang on that bit longer – because there is a purpose to all that we go through.  And that purpose is to make us diamonds.  Nothing that happens to us happens to us in vain.

“I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us.”  Romans 8:18

I find that quite exciting, actually.  Not that I want suffering – but all the financial battles, anxiety, fear, struggles that I have been through won’t be for nothing.  Good will come from it.  For me.  For my husband.  For my marriage.  And for our darling Baby Girl.

“Persevering your relationship with God will help you to withstand the weight of the world.  Persevering in your relationship with your husband will help you to withstand the extreme heat of the flaming arrows of the enemy.  Like a diamond endures through time resulting in an exquisite sought after gem, you can endure every season and circumstance allowing each one to refine you, resulting in an exquisite God-fearing woman who is worthy, far more than diamonds, you are worthy!  You are resilient, you are strong, you are beautiful!”  Reference here.

“Dear Lord, There are so many pressures in my life.  I feel heavy burdens at times and I also feel insecure that I don’t always measure up to people’s standards.  I pray that you remind me daily to find hope in you, to rely on you and to trust what you say about me.  Your opinion is truly the one that matters!  Thank you for being my source of strength to persevere, my everything.  May you continue to transform me into the woman you created me to be.  Help me to see myself as beautiful.  May your Holy Spirit guide me through every season, every circumstance, every pressure and every moment of intensity.  I pray that I can be a wife who endures for the sake of her marriage.  Please bless my husband and release him of the burdens of this world.  In Jesus’ name, AMEN!”  Reference here.

@unveiledwife

#WifeAfterGod

Leave a Reply

