Day 13:  Coated in Pride


Today is day 13 of Jennifer Smith’s 30 day devotional, Wife After God.

I don’t consider myself to be someone who is proud.  I can quite easily say I am sorry and mean it.  Even if in the heat of the moment, I may something I regret, I can easily apologise and make amends.  I really don’t have an issue with that – especially when it comes to my hubby.  But, that’s not the only pride that there is.  There is also the pride of not being able to ask for assistance when you need it, or not reaching out to your husband for sexual intimacy, but wanting attention and affection when I need it, but not being able to reach out to him to give him what he needs – thinking that my needs are more important than his.  So, even though I can say sorry easily, there are huge aspects in my life that are covered with pride.  Pride is never a good thing.  Ever.

And God hates pride.

“Pride is an inflated opinion of oneself, a breeding ground for self-deception.  Pride will convince you that your opinions, your actions, and your ways can all be justified as right.  Acting on pride is dangerous because its goal is self-preservation, not love…”  Reference here.

Pride, quite simply, makes everything about you.  There is no room for God, or His word, or what He wants to do in your life and your marriage – it’s all about you, what you think, what you want, and what will lift you higher than your peers, your friends and your spouse.

“Pride is not motivated by love, it will keep you from surrendering, it will keep you from apologizing, and it will keep you from forgiving.  Pride gives birth to bitterness and resentment.  Without reconciliation, a husband and wife who are one flesh are wounded fatally.  Pride will cause you to fall, it will lead to ruin, and it will build giant walls made to suffocate intimacy in marriage.  If you want a thriving relationship with your husband, you must let go of your pride,”  Reference here.

Dear Lord, give me the grace to always approach my husband and my marriage with love and humility.  I don’t always know better, and I can’t always be right.  Help me to honour you and my husband by acknowledging him as the head of our home, and listening to his counsel and to acknowledge and to attend to his needs, wants and desires.  By your grace, God, I can…  In Jesus name, Amen.

@unveiledwife

#WifeAfterGod

Leave a Reply

