Day 8: Confident Worthiness


Today is day 8 of Jennifer Smith’s 30 day devotional, Wife After God.

In today’s reading, Jennifer Smith asks a very important question, “Is God worthy of your trust?”  And in all honesty, I don’t know.  I get scared that He will let me down, fail me or that this will be all a joke – a big cosmic joke that I will bear the brunt of because of my faith.  But, here is the thing – and this sounds very arrogant and as if though I’m trying to elevate myself above my station in life, but God is worthy.  He has never yet let me down.  And He never will.

Romans 8:28 King James Version (KJV)

And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.

But, here is the amazing thing – God finds me worthy.  I remember a pastor very cleverly defining the difference between worthy and worthless and unworthy.  He said that we are all unworthy, because we are all sinners but none of us are worthless.  We are worthy because God loves us and it is in His son dying for us that we are worthy, because we have been clothed in righteousness.  And if we are worthy, our husbands are worthy, then our marriages are definitely worthy.

As Jennifer Smith puts it,

“However, if you seek your worthiness in God, being fulfilled completely, then you are able to unconditionally love your husband regardless of whether he fulfills you or fails you, thus mirroring God’s love story.  You are worthy.  Your husband is worthy.  And your marriage is worth submitting to God and trusting in Him confidently.”  Reference here.

Don’t trust your feelings of putting yourself or your husband or your marriage down – by God’s grace you are worthy, and so you know you can completely trust God.

Dear Lord,

Thank you for finding me worthy.  I am sorry that I do not always see my worthiness.  Sometimes I get so insecure and I look to my husband to fulfil me or comfort me.  This fear-based love keeps me from enjoying my marriage and it leaves me feeling unworthy.  Thank you for all the ways you show me I am worthy.  Please help me have confidence!  I pray that I would seek you daily and allow you to be my everything!  May my marriage be blessed as I submit my role as a wife to you, asking that you transform me into the woman you created me to be.  I lift up my husband, praying that he too would find his worthiness in you.  You are worthy God of my heart and my faith.  In Jesus’ name.  Reference here.

@unveiledwife

#WifeAfterGod

Leave a Reply

