Day 6:  Ministry of Reconciliation


Today is day 6 of Jennifer Smith’s 30 day devotional, Wife After God.

I find it more than a mere coincidence that this is today’s reading.  Because, you see, while watching The Fixer last night (known as Scandal overseas), Fitz is fighting with Mellie about how she abandoned their sex life and made him think that there is something wrong with him, and now she is having an affair with his best friend and hubby asks me if I can see the damage done and am I taking note of what Fitz is saying to Mellie.  My first reaction?  Complete annoyance.  But, because I know that my husband is right.  I am a gate-keeper wife.  And it has taken me years and years to realise the damage that I have done; am still doing.  But, there has been change – some adjustment of my thinking because previously hubby would approach me I would be completely oblivious to how long it’s been or even why he is approaching me.  Now, I know.  I know exactly how long it has been, and the reasons why – I am now aware.

But, even though I have made huge strides (in my book – in hubby’s book perhaps not so huge), I know that there needs to be reconciliation between hubby and I.  There has been hurt and damage done and although we are moving forward, there is much still do to.  In today’s reading, Jennifer Smith encourages to have a spirit of reconciliation – as Christ died to reconcile us to God, so we need to love our husbands and have an attitude of walking in peace with him and reconciling ourselves to our husbands.

Dear God,

Thank you for my husband.  Thank you that he loves me and that I love him.  I pray for healing for all the damage that we have both done to our relationship and to our marriage.  I pray that you will help us both to move toward each other in peace, love and reconciliation.  I pray that you will strengthen our marriage bond, through healing and through a birthing of desire – romantic, sexual, friendship – for each other.  In Jesus name I pray.  Amen.

@unveiledwife

#WifeAfterGod

Leave a Reply

