Day 2:  Marriage by Design


Today is day 2 of Jennifer Smith’s 30 day devotional, Wife After God.  When hubby and I first married, we often expressed our amazement at how perfectly our lives fitted together, like two pieces of a puzzle that just belonged.  And I distinctly recall marveling at how amazing it is that our lives fitted so perfectly.  And I think now that part of all this anxiety and battling after Baby Girl’s arrival is that we had to almost “unfit” ourselves to make space for Baby Girl’s arrival.  We had no road-map on how to do this without it affecting our relationship negatively.  But, thanks to the good Lord above, we are learning now how to re-knit ourselves together, making space for this perfect, precious gift.

And so it is with God’s design for marriage – you may be battling, or going through a rough season, or a lonely season but you must remember that God knows what He is doing.  And we must not focus so much on our spouses and what it is they are or are not doing that we forget to focus on ourselves.  God’s design is perfect and often, in upholding our end of that design, we very often can change the dynamic in our relationship for the better.  It’s not about what he does – it’s about what we do.  God’s perfect design is for a man to be respected and a woman to be loved.  So, as hard as it may be, focus on respecting your spouse – and very often, you will be amazed at the results.

My husband shows me love in all that he does around the house – he knows that being a working mom is hard.  And just this morning, he made a delicious omelette for me to have a breakfast at work.  Or at night, he will make us desert to enjoy together after Baby Girl has gone to sleep.  He loves me, this man.  And I am so grateful.

And I want to honour him and his love by respecting him as much as I can in all ways that I can.  And I want to love him for all our time together on this earth.  God has commanded us to love and honour our husbands.

Titus 2:4-5

King James Version (KJV)

That they may teach the young women to be sober, to love their husbands, to love their children, to be discreet, chaste, keepers at home, good, obedient to their own husbands, that the word of God be not blasphemed.

As much as that may chaste against our modern world and way of doing things, I think we need to realise and believe and have the faith that God’s plan is perfect.  It is always perfect.

Dear God,

Thank you for my husband.  Thank you that he loves me.  I pray for the grace to respect him in all that I do, and in all that he is.  I pray that I may love him and our child for as long as I live.  I pray that you would change me and mould me to the wife that my husband needs me to be, and the mother my child needs me to be so that in all things, you will be honoured.  In Jesus name, Amen

@unveiledwife

#WifeAfterGod

Leave a Reply

