Pure Passion :: The Questions I Never Asked & The Language I Never Used


Yet, there’s been this duplicity.  Intimate expression towards God flowing freely while a deeply beautiful part of me is bound behind a wall of misplaced shame; unable to speak freely about sex.  The dangers of promiscuous sex, I heard talked about.  How it all can become corrupted.  Important, yes.  But, what about the Beauty of Sex?  God’s original design fully redeemed in Christ intended to intimately reflect union with Him?  I’ve allowed an unmistakable, unnatural and seemingly unmovable wall to close me in.  I’ve been stuck in deep patterns that have kept me silent when I was meant to be free to sing, laugh, love as sex becomes an act of worship that husband and wife give to God.  And He smiles.  {truly, He does.}  It’s one step at a time, though they have been getting easier for me.  It’s a paradigm shift where silence and shame are replaced by sharing life, words and heart.  It is bringing me great joy and hope.  Abigail Alleman

This is quote from today’s post at Abigail Alleman‘s blog that I wanted to share with you, because I think it is vitally important.  This paradigm shift Abigail is talking about is what we all need to realise that us being with our husbands in the most intimate of ways is exactly what God wants.  In fact, I am coming to believe that not only does He desire it for us, He wants us to enjoy it, to express our love for another person on the most vulnerable of ways.  The church is very quick to tell us what we are doing wrong when it comes to sex – and so they should, someone needs to set that moral ground – but they are not so quick to tell us what we are doing right.  You don’t ever hear about how good it is between a husband and wife, or this is what God wants, how having fun with your mate is good, healthy and pleasing to God.  I have never ever heard that being taught in church.  I read about it on Christian blogs, but no church has ever taught me that.  And perhaps if we start teaching about the beauty of sex and the context that makes sex so beautiful, fewer people will want to experiment with it before marriage.  They would want to hold out for that beauty.  Focus on the positive and make people want that – and perhaps they will stay away from the negative.

Yet, there’s been this duplicity.  Intimate expression towards God flowing freely while a deeply beautiful part of me is bound behind a wall of misplaced shame; unable to speak freely about sex.  The dangers of promiscuous sex, I heard talked about.  How it all can become corrupted.  Important, yes.  But, what about the Beauty of Sex?  God’s original design fully redeemed in Christ intended to intimately reflect union with Him?  Abigail Alleman

There is much we need to change in the church and in this world, and proclaiming God’s beauty is definitely one aspect we can look at.

Leave a Reply

