Making your marriage fun.


Yes, marriage is hard work.  And yes, it is difficult to take two very different personalities, from two very different back grounds and try merge into one happy union.  Getting that right takes practice and commitment and some sound advice from those who have walked the road that you are now on.

Titus 2:2-5

Teach the older men to be temperate, worthy of respect, self-controlled, and sound in faith, in love and in endurance.  Likewise, teach the older women to be reverent in the way they live, not to be slanderers or addicted to much wine, but to teach what is good.  Then they can urge the younger women to love their husbands and children, to be self-controlled and pure, to be busy at home, to be kind, and to be subject to their husbands, so that no one will malign the word of God.  Reference here.

But, having said that, and I do believe it is very important to find an older, and wiser Christian woman to mentor you and guide you along life’s path (even if it’s just reading some excellent blogs with some sound advice like Sheila Wray Gregoire’s blog, To Love, Honour and Vacuum and many others).

I also believe that marriage should be fun.  I know that hubby and I are way too serious – and we’re constantly being bogged down by our financial pressures, and sometimes it isn’t easy to laugh and have fun when you’re so stressed out.

But, you must…

On Friday, I had one of the busiest days at work that I have had in a very long time.  My tummy was in knots with all the tension and I was convinced that I wouldn’t be able to relax when I got home – I was that uptight from a hectic day.

But…

We got pizza (okay, I got pizza – hubby and baby girl don’t eat pizza.  Yes, seriously…)  And hubby and baby girl had some fish and chips, and we sat and chatted and it was wonderful.  We didn’t discuss work, or my mother (read here for the scoop on that whole story), and it was something quite simple, but it was awesome.  And relaxing.  And lovely.

My point is that you don’t need to spend exorbitant amounts of money to have some fun in your marriage.  Just relaxing and enjoying each other may be enough for you.  But, sometimes you need to make the concerted effort of doing just that.

Whenever you can…

I mean, let’s face it.  Life is too serious as is to still add more seriousness – so lighten up and have some fun with your man.

Of course, I can quite easily guess the best way to have fun with your hubby … can you?  😉

Leave a Reply

