Thinking about marriage from God’s perspective


English: Created by Phil Scoville on June 25, ...

It amazes how many situations – whether dramatic or peaceful – starts with the mind.  I’ve been reading Joyce Meyer for a while now, the reasons for which you can read on my other blog, http://babymamasblog.wordpress.com/, but – and I really like what she says – it’s all about how you think about something.  Joyce Meyers says that you have to choose to think the right thoughts.  If you wallow in negativity, well then, you know what you can expect – a negative life.  And of course, this is biblically backed up.

Philippians 4:8

Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.

God wants us to think about good things, and to expect good things.

Jeremiah 29:11

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

So, we can expect that future from  God.  And this relates the most strongly to our marriages.  I’m not one to speak, and I feel so inadequate even typing these words, but I know even as I still battle to put it into practice, what positive thinking can do.  For example, if I keep thinking I’m too busy for my husband, too busy to be intimate with him, too busy with too many things to do, how on earth will that have a positive impact on my marriage?

However…

If I think that I am busy, but I can make time this evening, or I do have a lot to do, but I can put a few things aside to rather do tomorrow, so that hubby and I can have some time together this evening.

What an impact these two different ways of thinking can have on your marriage.  Both schools of thought acknowledges that there is a lot to do – however, the second is prioritizing what is truly important.

But, it is not easy, as you’ll see my personal blog, but I think it is something we need to strive for every day.  I mean, if my mom had said, “what a blessing to be married to this man, what can I do today to make this marriage better”, instead of “marrying him was a mistake” – what do you think the impact would have been on her own marriage?

Changing our thoughts is not easy, but it can be done.

2 Corinthians 10:5

We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.

Marriage: God’s Idea

All things in life has a beginning.  Someone who designed and put together what needed to be done.  An architect will draft plans for a building.  A surgeon will research what operation needs to be done.  And even in marriage – there is a mastermind.  God designed marriage, and he has a plan for marriage.  For all marriages.  But this is not the message we get in the media today – in fact, the world and secular society is very much against marriage working.  Why?  Well, I think that’s a whole post for another time, but suffice it to say that marriage in today’s society is very strongly under threat.

The Bible has a high view of marriage.  It is to be a lifetime plan, not a convenience that can be disposed of in a lawyer’s office.  The love of husband and wife is, at its best, a hint of the deeper love between a human being and God.

Give honor to marriage, and remain faithful to one another in marriage.  God will surely judge people who are immoral and those who commit adultery.  Hebrews 13:4

Drink water from your own well — share your love only with your wife.  Why spill the water of your springs in public, having sex with just anyone?  You should reserve it for yourselves.  Don’t share it with strangers.  Let your wife be a fountain of blessing for you.  Rejoice in the wife of your youth.  May you always be captivated by her love. Proverbs 5:15-19

Because there is so much sexual immorality, each man should have his own wife, and each woman should have her own husband.  The husband should not deprive his wife of sexual intimacy, which is her right as a married woman, nor should the wife deprive her husband. . . I wish everyone could get along without marrying, just as I do.  But we are not all the same.  God gives some the gift of marriage, and to others he gives the gift of singleness.  Now I say to those who aren’t married and to widows — it’s better to stay unmarried, just as I am.  But if they can’t control themselves, they should go ahead and marry.  It’s better to marry than to burn with lust. 1 Corinthians 7:2-3, 7-9

References:

http://www.focusonthefamily.com/marriage/gods_design_for_marriage/marriage_gods_idea.aspx

http://www.cbn.com/spirituallife/CBNTeachingSheets/promises_marriage.aspx

One thought on “Thinking about marriage from God’s perspective

Leave a Reply

