The Importance of Love


Love ? I love love love you.
Love ? I love love love you. (Photo credit: @Doug88888)

Love is important!

Why?  Because it is the glue that holds all together.  And in today’s crazy world, where successful marriages are rare, it seems we need to work more intensely on loving each other more completely.  Ever notice, how when a couple get divorced, and the one partner remarries?  Ever notice all that anger and aggression regarding the new marriage?  I believe it’s because that love that brought them together in the first place is still there.  And I don’t believe it ever really goes away, but it does need to be nurtured and looked after.  (I mean, if things were really over, and both parties have truly moved on, then surely there would be no negativity?  As is, my mom has been remarried for just over 10 years, and she still can’t be in the same room with my father.  And I believe its because she still loves him – even if she can’t, or won’t, admit it.)

Without love, there is nothing – although love in and of itself is not enough to make a marriage work, it is the incentive to want to make it work.

Love may not solve an argument, but love gives you the patience to work through it.
Love may not ensure that you are always right, but love gives you the perspective to understand that being right isn’t important.
Love won’t stop you from saying hurtful things, but love demands a heartfelt apology.
Love doesn’t make you less annoyed by the little things, but love will help you focus on what really matters.
Love doesn’t protect you from getting hurt, but love allows forgiveness.

Reference: http://bemorewithless.com/simple-marriage-and-the-importance-of-love/

Some of the key ingredients to a successful marriage are very similar to the the ingredients for a happy life.

  • Gratitude. It’s easy to take the little things for granted, but noticing what your spouse does for you and thanking them for it does go along way.  Hubby brought me to work this morning, as my car had to go in for a service.  I could’ve caught the bus, but hubby would never allow that.  I am so grateful for the way he takes care of me.  And blessed.
  • Happiness.  A strong relationship needs happiness and sometimes with the hustle and bustle of life, you have to fight for that.  And hubby and I need to laugh more.  The stress of daily live and the financial battles has jaded this for us a little, but its because of this that I can see how important it is.  This morning, as I was taking my car in for the service, I had forgotten that they had relocated – so I was happily driving to the wrong venue.  Until hubby phoned me and I had to make a u-turn and go back the way I had come.  I had a choice – stress because I was going to be late for work.  Or laugh.  I chose the latter.  Hubby was duly irritated, but I’ll get him to see the humour in it later tonight.
  • Selflessness. If everyday, you think about how to make your spouse’s day a little brighter, you will become naturally more supportive, more giving and more loving.  I know I can be very selfish.  And this is something I constantly need to work on.  Not just for hubby – but for Baby Girl as well.
  • Date NightTake time for each other.  This might be a challenge if you have young children, but figure it out.
  • Common Goals. You don’t have to like all the same things, but you do need to work on your future together.  And parenting well and being married well is the best common goal to have.

I didn’t include love on the list because it is the glue that holds all of these things together.  Love can’t fix everything, but it will give you the strength to get through anything.  And while I am most definitely not the best wife, I know that I love my husband more than anything, and I want us to work.

1 Corinthians 13:4-8

Love is patient, love is kind.  It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.  It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.  Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.  It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.  Love never fails.  But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away.

One thought on “The Importance of Love

Leave a Reply

